Special Awards

Connelly Law Offices Excellence in Officiating Award

This award honors an active official in Tacoma-Pierce County who has made a significant contribution to the betterment of officiating. Officials are recognized for their leadership, dedication and the high standards of professionalism they display on local fields and courts.

Eligible honorees are Tacoma-Pierce County residents who are members of officials organizations sanctioned by the WIAA and the WOA.

Jim Jezek (Baseball)
Ricky Underwood (Girl’s Basketball)
Randy Sears and Amy Wertz (Softball)
Dave Dempski (Volleyball)

Jo Flom (Track & Field)

Larry Berg (Boy’s Basketball)
Tyler Olsen (Football)
Ray Moffatte Jr. (Soccer)
Darrel Spivey (Wrestling)

First Family of Sports Award

This award recognizes the contributions of parents, foster parents or guardians who instill and help maintain athletes’ successes. From the “Hi Mom” TV wave at sports events to more formal acknowledgement of family interest in and encouragement of sports from generation to generation, athletic achievement, whether in team or individual sports, is foster by and also can foster family life.

The Heinrick Family: John, Irene, Jack, Patricia, Margaret, Dennis and Kathleen

Doug McArthur Lifetime Achievement Award

The Doug McArthur Lifetime Achievement Award is intended to recognize an individual who captures the true passion for sport.Sports bring out the best of us as individuals as well as collectively as a team. Sports challenge us both physically and mentally. It brings out our best in moments when our best is required. This competitive spirit shows itself in a variety of ways over the course of a lifetime.It is not about winning but about competing. It is about bringing out the best in yourself and others through ability, effort and attitude. When one does that, it leaves a legacy, a road map of courage, for others to follow.This award recognizes all of the above and Tacoma Athletic Commission is proud to annually honor individuals in the community as recipients of the Doug McArthur Achievement Award.

Brian Kamens & Aaron Pointer

Frosty Westering Excellence in Coaching Award

In recognition of the commitment to excellence and devotion to the personal growth of players, the Frosty Westering Excellence in Coaching Award is presented to the coach who best exemplifies these ideals.

Don Gustafson, Girl’s Golf, Life Christian Academy
Joe Waters, Boy’s Soccer, Bellarmine Prep

Dick Hannula Amateur Male and Female Athletes of the Year Award

The Dick Hannula Award is given to the top male and female amateur athletes in Tacoma-Pierce County for the past year. Hannula, an internationally-known coach and member of the International Swimming Hall of Fame, led his Wilson boys swim teams to 24 straight state titles, and coached numbers world-class swimmers such as Kaye Hall-Gruff; Janet Buchan Elway; Barbara Mitchell; Chuck Richards; Dick, David and Dan Hannula; Miriam Smith; and Sarah Rudolph.

Malachi Flynn, Basketball
Bellarmine Prep, WSU and San Diego State

Morgan Weaver, Soccer
Curtis HS, WSU

To see the list of past winners in each category, click the links below:

First Family of Sports Award
Doug McArthur Lifetime Achievement Award
Frosty Westering Excellence in Coaching Award
Dick Hannula Amateur Athlete of the Year Award—Male and Female
Connelly Law Offices Excellence in Officiating Award